Remembrance


As today is Remembrance Sunday and before I continue with this post I really must pay my utmost respect to all the men and woman who have and continue to serve in our armed forces – and especially to those who have lost their lives on our behalf.

I was watching the ceremony at the Cenotaph this morning on Sky when they cut to an interview with a lady who has just released a book about the period between the ending of the First World War on November 11th 1918 and the burial of the unknown soldier 2 years later in 1920 (the book starts with the practical decision long before the war ended not to repatriate any of the dead bodies).

Having lived abroad for many, many years I missed out a lot when I guess this part of history was taught at schools and over the years becomes ingrained into one’s psyche.  It is an important and valuable part of my British heritage.

And there is so much that I didn’t know about this period that I learned this morning that explains the relevance of the ceremony and why it is so important to continue the traditions today – and also why today the repatriation of bodies from the various areas of conflicts is so very important not only to the families and comrades of the fallen – but the nation as well.

Considering how I feel about this topic, it might surprise you to learn that I do not wear a poppy.  The reason for this is because it has in my view become something that is “expected” (the media’s fault for this I fear).  Now I don’t know if I am being silly and over analytical – but I’d prefer to show my respects through other donations and support.

This entry was posted in Ponderings. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Remembrance

  1. anonymous says:

    A quick comment for now…I know what you mean about wearing a poppy being expected these days but I believe that while the generation that lived through the second world war is still alive they deserve to see us wear our gratitude on show. I would be embarrassed for anyone of that age to see me without one. Therefore, I will be donating for poppy #3 on Monday and seeing if sellotape will help keep it on my coat!

  2. AT says:

    You are of course right – the poppy on show is to show the service men and women and their families that people care. It is selfish of me to not wear it for my own sense of self importance. I will wear my poppy with the greatest of respect tomorrow!

  3. Adrian says:

    Poppy now on display!

Leave a Reply

