Cast away

One of the joys of starting a new job is meeting and then getting to know new people.  One of my team members is a Danish Kiwi (an interesting and entertaining combination!) and she has introduced me to her favourite object d’art: cast glass… 

Having lived in Sweden for almost 20 years I too have an affinity with glass and crystal – and have collected Bertil Vallien’s range of Mini-Sculptures for Kosta Boda (although only the animals) for some time.  I thought I had all of them – but apparently I am missing one!  I didn’t realise what technique was used to produce them but it turns out that they are done using sand casting as well.   Clearly there is a rich source of talented glass artists in New Zealand too and for my money Christine Cathie is the best of the bunch! 

Her works are truly beautiful and I think if I saw one for real I wouldn’t be able to resist purchasing a piece as the sinuous shapes and vibrant colours are magnificent!  Check out the interactive show guide for her latest 2010 exhibition Amorphisms.  Awesome!

This entry was posted in Art. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

